24 August 2017

Image of

Congratulations to all Y11 Students.

Today, students at Burscough Priory were celebrating their success in Summer GCSE examinations.  In the reformed GCSEs, 77% of students achieved a pass grade 4 or higher in GCSE English with 53% achieving a strong pass and 12% attaining a grade 7+.   In mathematics, 80% achieved a grade 4 or higher in GCSE Maths with 59% achieving a strong pass and an amazing 26% attaining a grade 7+.

There were many excellent individual performances with 30% of all entries attaining grade A*, A, or equivalent.  Of particular note was the outstanding performance of Luci Mullen who achieved grade 9 in English Language and grade 9 in Maths, a grade 8 in English Lit and 9 grades at A*.

The Headteacher Dr Graham Clarke said, “I am delighted that the hard work of our young people together with the support and guidance from staff and home, has resulted in an excellent set of GCSE results. Students of all talents and abilities have done extremely well. “


Summer Results 2017 Context.

GCSEs are being reformed: the grading system is moving from letters (A*-G) to a numerical 9 to 1 system, with 9 the highest grade.  The Content of the new GCSEs is more challenging: new grades are being introduced to signal that these are reformed GCSEs, and to better differentiate between students of different abilities.

The results of the reformed GCSEs cannot be compared with the old GCSEs as they are entirely new courses with a new grading system.

The new grading structure is not directly equivalent to the A*-G systemHowever, in the first year that each new GCSE subject is introduced, broadly the same proportion of students will get grades 1, 4, and 7 and above, as would have achieved grades G, C and A and above respectively under the old system.  Fewer grade 9s will be awarded than A*s.

2017: examinations in the first three reformed GCSEs (English language, English literature and maths) were sat this summer. They will be graded 9 to 1. All other subjects will be graded A*-G.

2018: examinations will be sat for the first time in another 20 reformed subjects under the 9 to 1 grading system, with most other GCSEs following in 2019. The government has decided to describe a grade 4 as a ‘standard pass’ and a grade 5 as a ‘strong pass’.

The new GCSE grades:

A grade 4 and above is equivalent to a C and above: if pupils do not achieve this level they will be required to continue studying English and maths post- 16. Where employers, FE providers and universities currently accept a grade C, they are expected to continue recognising a grade 4.

The grade 5 ‘strong pass’ is being used as a school performance measure. In school performance tables, the government will publish the proportion of students achieving a grade 4 and above, and intends to publish the proportion of students achieving a grade 5 and above. This will not affect individual pupils.